Krista’s Chicken Pasta Bake with Cheesy Sauce

This is one of those nights that I’m really craving some comfort food. My comfort food consists of a pasta dish of any sort. My favorite past of choice is fettuccine. So when I opened my pantry doors I was sorely disappointed to see that all of my fettuccine was gone. 😦

It’s time to improvise! So I stole some pasta shells from a here’s-all-your-ingredients-just-add-water box, grabbed a can of cream of chicken soup and went to work. This was the end result.

It tastes even better than it looks!

This was my first official I-have-no-recipe-so-I’m-throwing-stuff-together cooking success! Oh and here’s the recipe.

Pasta (any kind) about 2 servings worth

1/4 c chopped onion

olive oil

4 boneless, skinless chicken tenderloins

1 can cream of chicken soup

1/4 c butter

1 t lemon juice

1 t Italian seasoning

1/2 t garlic powder

1/2 c shredded mozzarella cheese

1 slice of bread, crumbed

Preheat oven to 350. Cook pasta and strain. Coat bottom of skillet with olive oil, sauté onions and add to pasta. Cook chicken in same skillet then cube and set aside. Add butter and lemon juice to skillet, melt butter. Add Italian seasoning, garlic powder, cream of chicken soup, and mozzarella cheese to skillet. Stir and heat for 2 min on medium heat. Add chicken and heat for 5 min or until bubbling. Stir in pasta and onion mix and put in casserole dish. Top with bread crumbs. Bake for 20 min.

Definitely a keeper. But Allison said next time I need to add something green, as she was “craving something green” so promptly went to the freezer and got out the bag of frozen peas that she keeps stashed in there. Crazy girl. 🙂

4 responses to “Krista’s Chicken Pasta Bake with Cheesy Sauce

  1. Sounds really good! You could actually add some cooked peas to the dish for a complete one dish meal. (Do I sound like Allison?) I am going to tell lisa about this receipe and see if we can try it here sometime.

Leave a Reply

