Basil and Garlic Chicken Stuffed with Chavrie Goat Cheese

Intimidating title, I know. Trust me on this one, these babies are awesome! I’ve been in a chicken mood lately, varying the usual breading on my chicken and then I happend across this wonderful idea. I had always wanted to make chicken cordon bleu, so this was my segway into mastering the art of stuffing chicken. Ish.

I’m cheap. Come on I’m in college! So I buy flash frozen chicken tenders instead of chicken breasts for 2 reasons; a) they’re cheaper (duh) and b) they are smaller, which means less eating for me, which equates to less inches around my waist. Score! So as usual this recipe called for chicken breasts and I substituted my chicken tenders. Bad idea. I mean, don’t get me wrong, they still turned out AmAzInG, but having actual chicken breasts for this recipe would have put it on a pedestal. So here ya go!

Basil & Garlic Chicken Stuffed with Chavrie Goat Cheese

  • 4 chicken breasts, boneless & skinless
  • 5.3 ounce pkg Chavrie Basil & Roasted Garlic Goat Cheese
  • 2 teaspoons granulated garlic
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups Panko Bread Crumbs
  • 4 tablespoons melted butter

Preheat oven to 375.

Filet the chicken breasts, then pound with meat mallet until roughly 1/4 inch thick. Sprinkle with salt and pepper, garlic, and basil.  Fill with Chavrie, and roll up.  Tie each piece of chicken with two pieces of cooking twine.

Scramble the egg in a wide bowl.  Dip each piece of prepared chicken in the egg, then dip into bowl of panko crumbs.  Press crumbs onto all sides of the chicken, and place in casserole pan.  Repeat with remaining chicken.  Pour melted butter over each piece of breaded chicken.  Bake at 375 for 30 minutes, or until chicken tests done.

Doesn’t that make you hungry?

I made a few modifications, as usual. I seasoned the breadcrumbs with some garlic powder, onion powder, basil, secret seasoning, and pepper. This Chaverie goat cheese I used was the basil and roasted garlic kind. Aka wonderful. If you google Chaverie and go to their website, you can get a $1 off coupon by liking them on Facebook. I love coupons.

I paired this wonderful dish with some instant mashed potatoes (forgive me) courtesy of Betty Crocker and then some green beans and red peppers sautéd with some wonderful seasonings.

This is definitely on my list of things to cook again in the very near future. Enjoy!

Leave a comment