Hamburger Stroganoff (cheating) and Cream Cheesy Zucchini

Yes, I am alive. I started my first “out-of-college” job a little over a month ago, so maybe I should rename the blog… Anyways, I’m back to cooking! It is summer, so therefore there is a whole host of yummy veggies for me to experiment with (coming from the girl who used to never touch veggies). So far, I’ve been playing with zucchini. ‘Tis the season, and normally I just slice it thinly length-wise, toss it in olive oil with some salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder and throw it on the grill. But since it’s a billion degrees outside, I decided to find a recipe that I could do indoors. My good friend, Allrecipes.com, sends me wonderful daily e-mails with yummy recipes, and this past week they had a zucchini-themed e-mail. Tada! I paired this with some Hamburger Stroganoff (I cheated and used Hamburger Helper with a few of my own additions) and my famous garlic bread. What a wonderful meal! Here are the recipes!

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 cups cubed zucchini
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1 pinch red pepper flakes
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • cayenne pepper to taste
  • 2 tablespoons cream cheese
  • 2 teaspoons chopped fresh oregano

Directions

  1. Heat olive oil in skillet over high heat; stir in zucchini, lemon zest, and red pepper flakes. Cook for about 2 minutes.
  2. Stir in salt, black pepper, and cayenne pepper; cook and stir until zucchini is tender, about 5 minutes.
  3. Stir cream cheese into zucchini mixture; cook until cream cheese begins to melt, about 1 minute. Remove from heat and stir in oregano.

(courtesy http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Cream-Cheesy-Cubed-Zucchini-with-Lemon-and-Oregano/Detail.aspx?ms=1&prop25=87801138&prop26=WhatsCooking&prop27=2012-07-05&prop28=Intro&prop29=Link_1&me=1)

I made a few modifications, as usual, so I used lemon juice instead of lemon zest (didn’t have a lemon), and used some garlic powder, onion powder, seasoned salt, and paprika. Oh and some freshly grated parmesan cheese. The Hamburger Stroganoff was supplemented by a can of cream of mushroom soup, some garlic powder, onion powder, parsley, and ground pepper. All in all I’d say this was a successful meal!

Leave a Reply

